Benson Polytechnic High School Alumni Association

Ocean Bowl Teams Dominate

Oregon State University recently hosted the Regional Oregon Salmon Bowl where student teams competed to show their knowledge of ocean science, marine biology and more. In addition, they toured the OSU Wave Research Laboratory and met with graduate students to learn about the research they’re conducting.

The “Benson A” team went undefeated, winning 8 of 8 games for 1st place (Captain Agatha Chang, Bria Carlson, Natalie Connelly, Cecilie Bergren-Dizon and Eugene Jones). They also won the Sportsmanship Award for showing respect, humor and Benson spirit during the contest. The “Benson B” team (Captain Micah Jorgenson, Marti Goebel, Cherish Mercado, Joe Anderson and Zander Hoyt) also had a strong showing with a 3rd place finish.

Prizes included a VIP experience at the OSU Hatfield Marine Science Center and Oregon Coast Aquarium. Juniors and Seniors will also receive a $1,000 scholarship at OSU should they attend.

Congratulations to Kerry Zambrano, the teams and everyone involved in supporting their efforts!

Comments are closed.